

This weekend sees the opening round of the 2010 HRCR MOTOSCOPE Northern Historic Rally Championship.

The Riponian Forest Stages based at Thirsk Auction Mart sees crews tackle 12 forest stages on the forestry commissions gravel surface tracks. With snow still lying in some areas, conditions could be tricky.

18 championship crews are entered for the event which is headed by 2009 champions Charlie Taylor/Steve Bielby in their usual Ford Escort Mk 2. Charlie finished second for points last year and will be determined to start the year and the defence of his title with a victory.

Following the 2009 champions will be the first of the newcomers to the championship, Ken Forster/John Stanger-Leathes have competed in the British Historic for the last ?? Years, but have decided to switch to the championship this year instead. Their best result was 1st in class and 9th O/A on the 2006 Roger Albert Clark Rally.

After taking victory in the last round of the 2009 championship, Robin Shuttleworth/Ronnie Roughead start third on the road in their regular Ford Escort Mk 1 RS2000.

Fourth on the road is the second of the newcomers to the championship, Tim Pearcey. Tim who is usually seen competing in a 4WD Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 has now decided to return to rear wheel drive, he has purchased Chris White's Ford Escort Mk 2 over the winter and with a test scheduled prior to the event should be fired up for a good result.

Roger Kilty/Lynette Banks start at number 6 in their Ford Escort RS1800. After selling his Vauxhall Chevette HSR at the end of last year, Roger debuted the car on the Trackrod Historic Cup and finished a very respectable 5th O/A of the championship crews.

Second in the championship in 2009, Pickering's Steve Magson/Geoff Atkinson in the Opel Ascona return to the championship once again. They should be strong contenders on the tarmac rounds after their superb victory on last years Jim Clark Historic Rally.

Bob Bean/Malcolm Smithson also return to the championship this year having taken victory in Category 2. Bob has been rallying for more years than anyone in the championship, but can still be competitive and is certain to be a challenger for awards once again.

Newark's Jason Lepley registers for the championship in 2010 having taken top points at Chatsworth last year (Round 4). Jason with navigator Howard Pridmore will be aboard his



Barry Jordan/Jaime Gratton-Smith start at number 10. After joining the series at the MEM Malton Forest Stages they accrued enough points to take victory in Class D3 and are sure to be in the running for a similar result in 2010.

Beverley's Peter Smith/Russ Langthorne start 2010 with a new car, the Opel Kadett run by Birkbeck Rallysport. Pete, who competed in a Porsche Carrera RS last year swapped to the Opel for the Trackrod and after doing 3 events with the car he is hoping for good finishes this year.

The big Triumph TR7 of Preston's Martin Knapp/Mike Robinson appeared on several events last year and was a crowd favourite. Their best result was 9th O/A on the Premier Historic Rally. They also took 2nd in Class D3.

The third of the newcomers is the Vauxhall Chevette HSR of Tony Thompson/Paul Hudson. Tony has competed on and off since 1974 and competed in this car on the 2009 Roger Albert Clark Rally finishing ??

Fourth of the newcomers are Paul/Daniel May who start at number 14 in their Ford Escort Mk 1 Mexico. They competed in the championship in 2006 finishing 3rd O/A. They also finished 3rd in class on the 2009 MEM Malton Forest Stages.

David Thirlwell/Dean Grabham return to the championship in their 'Old Gold' replica Ford Escort Mk 1. After taking victory in Class C1 last year they are keen to repeat that success in 2010.

Pontefract's Ian Coulson/Joe Jones will be back again having returned to rallying in 2009 after 20 years out of it in their 'Tango TI'. They took Class D2 victory in 2009.

Bringing another Sunbeam to the championship is Mike Kent/Shaun Leggott.

Having registered for the championship at the Chatsworth Rallyshow, John Cockerill enters the Riponian with Jim Goodman navigating.



The final championship crew and also the fifth of the newcomers is Stewart Scott in an Escort RS2000 returning to rallying after 35 years away.

The HRCR MOTOSCOPE Northern Historic Rally Championship features nine rounds, with a mixture of sealed tarmac and multi-use, multi venue forest stages. All nine events are included in the championship with the competitors best seven scores counting at the end of the season.

Championship co-ordinator Mark Casey said: "I am really looking forward to the opening round of the 2010 championship. Once again we have got a superb entry of historic cars and it is great to welcome some new names to the championship aswell. I shall take this opportunity to welcome back MOTOSCOPE our main series sponsor and I hope we have another successful year together."

Regulations are available for the 2010 HRCR MOTOSCOPE Northern Historic Rally Championship via the championship website: www.motoscope.co.uk/nhrc2010.htm which can also be accessed from the homepage of the championship sponsor MOTOSCOPE: www.motoscope.co.uk. Regulations can also be obtained from Championship Co-ordinator-Mark Casey who can be contacted on 07949 899 619 or by email: casage02@yahoo.co.uk.

After each round a event report will be written including pictures taken by the championship photographers Phill Andrews Photography, these can be ordered through Phill via his website www.rallyaround.co.uk.

The 2010 HRCR MOTOSCOPE Northern Historic Rally Championship Calendar			
Round 1:	14 th Feb	Riponian Forest Rally	Forest
Round 2:	09th May	SG PETCH Tour Of Hamsterley	Forest
Round 3:	28-29 th May	JIM CLARK Historic Rally	Tarmac
Round 4:	26 th June	RSAC Scottish Historic Rally	Forest
Round 5:	01 st Aug	Tyneside Historic Rally-Otterburn	Tarmac
Round 6:	25 th Sept	TRACKROD Historic Cup	Forest
Round 7:	07 th Nov	MEM Malton Forest Stages	Forest
Round 8:	20 th Nov	RALLITRAK Premier Historic Rally	Forest
Round 9:	04 th Dec	Grizedale Historic Rally	Forest
		www.motoscope.co.uk/nhrc2010.htm	